the art of healing
homeabout uschakrascrystal light therapyhealing modalitieslinkscontact us

Within the body exist a series of minor and major energy centers called chakras. They are spinning, rotating wheels of electric energy of different rainbow colors that perform many functions connecting our energy fields, bodies and the broader Cosmic Energy Field. Their name derives from the Sanskrit word for "wheel" or "turning", but in the yogic context a better translation of the word is 'vortex or whirlpool. Each of the seven major chakras has its own distinct character and relates to a unique aspect of our being. Chakras are centers within our energy field where Life Force flows into and out of our being, on the levels of form. The chakras correlate to levels of consciousness, body functions, colors, elements, sounds, and much more. Each Chakra controls specific organs, mind and body functions.The blockage or energetic dysfunction in the chakras (when the flow of energy in one or more of the chakras becomes blocked) we may develop physical, mental and emotional illnesses. Removing these blockages, disturbances will prevent diseases or other problems from manifesting in the physical body.
In Hindu and tantric/yogic traditions and other belief systems chakras are energy points or knots in the subtle body. They are located at the physical counterparts of the major plexuses of arteries, veins and nerves. Chakras are part of the subtle body, not the physical body, and as such are the meeting points of the subtle (non-physical) energy channels, called nadiis. Nadiis are channels in the subtle body through which the life force (”prana”/“chi”), or vital energy moves. Various scriptural texts and teachings present a different number of chakras. There are many chakras in the subtle human body according to the tantric texts, but there are 7 chakras that are considered to be the most important ones.
The chakras direct the energy which vitalizes the nerves and glands and ultimately all of the structures of the body.
It is through the energy field that we are connected with everyone and everything else that exists and you, as a living being, are taking in this energy at every moment. You are always drawing this life energy into your own energy field, and it is this energy that supports your life.

lotus click on each chakra to find a detailed description
root chakra heart chakra solar plexus chakra heart chakra throat chakra third eye chakra crown chakra
The Root
The Sacral
The Solar
Plexus Chakra
The Heart
The Throat
The Third
Eye Chakra
The Crown
click on each chakra to find a detailed description
crown third eye throat heart solar sacral root