the art of healing
homeabout uschakrascrystal light therapyhealing modalitieslinkscontact us

heart chakra

The Heart Chakra: Anahata

Element: Air | Symbol: Cross

Colours: Green or pink

Sense: Touch

Location: Situated on the cardiac plexus in the region of the heart at the center of the chest on the sternum. Fourth thoracic vertebrae.

Function: Social identity, trust, forgiveness, unconditional love, wisdom, stability, mental patience, compassion, emotional empowerment, issues of the soul.

Physical areas & Glands: Thymus gland, heart, blood, circulatory system, lungs and diaphragm, lymph, immune system.

Physical Dysfunctions: Congestive heart failure, heart attack, mitral valve prolapse, chest pain arteriosclerosis, peripheral vascular insufficiency, asthma, lung cancer, pneumonia, bronchitis, emphysema, allergies, breast cancer and breast disorders, such as mastitis or cysts, immune system deficiencies, circulation problems, shoulder, arm, and hand issues, such as carpal tunnel.

Excessive: Demanding, jealousy, co-dependency, poor boundaries, overly sacrificing, possessive, arrogance.

Deficient: Antisocial, withdrawn, cold, shy, critical, judgmental, intolerant, loneliness, depression, fear of intimacy and relationships, lack of empathy, bitter, lack of hope, compassion and confidence, despair, anxiety.

Balanced: Compassionate, loving, self-loving, empathetic, peaceful, balanced, feeling of completeness and wholeness, friendly, optimistic, motivated, nurturing, outgoing, good immune system.

Traumas and Abuses: Rejection, abandonment, loss, shaming, constant criticism, unacknowledged grief, divorce, death of a loved one, loveless or cold environment, conditional love, sexual or physical abuse, betrayal.

Gemstones for Activating the Heart Chakra:
is regarded as a cleansing stone, capable of clearing out toxins from the aura and physical body. On a psychological level, it assists negative emotions, such as jealousy, envy, hate and anger, and helps move these emotions out through the chakra and replacing them with compassion, love and calmness. On a physical level peridot can assists the energetic vibrations of the hearth and lungs.

Gemstones for Calming the Heart Chakra:
Blue Sapphire: it opens you up to higher spiritual realms by calming the physical body. It brings deep wisdom and serenity. Energetically it regulates the endocrine system and is excellent if you are undergoing deeply stressful events.
Pink Topaz : will create an immediate synergy with the Thymus Chakra that is closely associated with the hearth. It disperses old patterns of disease that are held in the auric field relating to the heart; for the lung problem green topaz is more appropriate.
Lavender or Pink Kunzite will strengthen and protect the whole auric field. Helps to heal the pain of broken relationship or loss through death, when it assists the grieving process.. It is uses to help lift depression arising from emotional turbulence, and to calm panic attacks.
Rhodonite It is regarded as a "First aid" crystal. Is used to clear out unwanted energies and to calm the Heart Chakra. It clears memories of emotional and physical wounds, in this or past lives.

Gemstones for Balancing the Heart Chakra:
Watermelon Tourmaline: The green part brings life-force energy into the body, while the pink soothes and harmonizes. It helps to reconcile opposites and confusion about sexual roles. It can teach us to be self-contained, integrated and in loving harmony with all the different aspects of ourselves.
Green Aventurine: This crystal both calms and balances the energies of the heart and lungs.
Rose Quartz: Will bring you friendship and love. In meditation it will take you through opening the different levels of the Heart Chakra and find ways to connect you with your inner cosmic child. In the physical body, it can aid sexual and emotional imbalance and increase fertility.
Rhodocrosite: A good energy conductor, as it has a high copper content. It integrates physical and emotional aspects at the heart level.

Other Related Gemstones: Emerald, Green Jade, Green Tourmaline, Malachite.

Related Essential Oils:
Rose, Melissa, Neroli.

click on each chakra to find a detailed description
crown third eye throat heart solar sacral root